Kabaddi – A Complete Guide, Rules, Championships (Domestic/International)


Kabaddi is a highly popularized sport in the southern Asia which is played at domestic and international level. Actually, it is the official game of states such as Maharashtra, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Bihar, and Telangana. If we talk about its scope outside India, then in Iran it is highly popularized sports where people of all communities participate. Here is a complete guide, rules of Kabaddi, details about championships who won the tournaments.

A Complete Guide To Kabbadi

Rules of Kabaddi

  • In kabaddi team, there are 12 players with 7 at field at one point of time.
  • Due to the physical nature of game, matches are organized in weight and age categories.
  • There are six officials looking after each Kabaddi match. The officials comprise of a referee, a scorer, two assistant scorers and two umpires.
  • The match duration is two halves of 20 minutes including half time break of 5 minutes.
  • When there is start of match, the coin is tossed with the winner having the choice as to whether to have the first raid or not.
  • In the second half of the match, the team that did not raid first shall begin the second half with a raid.

Kabaddi Championships

On An International Level

Asian Games:

Since 1990, in every four years the Asian games are held once among which kabaadi is the highest playing game. Till 2015, India has played nine gold medals in sports.

Kabaddi World Cup:

The first world cup of kabaddi was played in 2004 and then it had become an annual event gradually.Till 2014, India has won all the World Cups, with Pakistan as the second runner up.

Women’s Kabaddi World Cup:

India had hosted the first world cup of women kabaddi in 2012 in patna city.India ended up being the champion with Iran as the second runner up. Even in 2014, India retained the title by defeating New Zealand in the finals.

South Asian Games:

Kabaddi was introduced at the 2010 South Asian Games in Dhaka where India won in both men’s and women’s category.

World Kabaddi League:

This is one of the biggest Kabaddi events in the world. There are a total of 8 teams from 4 countries; USA, Canada, Pakistan and United Kingdom. In this league the matches are held in a circular field. The league first started in 2014.

Domestic Kabaddi

Pro Kabaddi League

This league started in 2014 with 8 major teams based in different Indian cities. Teams that competed were; Jaipur Pink Panther, U Mumba, Bengaluru Bulls, Dabang Delhi, Puneri Paltan, Telgu Titans, Bengal Warriors and Patna Pirates. The format in this league was caravan format which meant teams had to travel to 8 venues to play a total of 60 matches during the tournament. The teams have continued to play in the 2015 as well as 2016 Pro Kabaddi League.

Famous Personalities In Kabaddi

  • Rakesh Kumar
  • Anup Kumar
  • Manjit Chillar

So this is the complete guide to Kabaddi, its rules and Championships (Domestic / International). Stay tuned with us for more interesting facts like this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *